Yoga means union. It is a union between mind, body, strength and flexibility. It is a practical aid, not a religion. Its techniques may be practiced by Buddhists, Jews, Christians, Muslims, Hindus and atheists alike because it deals with universal truths. It can be as simple as a weekly Vinyassa Flow class or a total way of life. As a way of life it is a daily practice which exceeds more than just poses. It encompasses the eight limbs of yoga and pure diet and positive mental attitude. The famous guru Iyengar says that, “The body is the altar and the asanas are the prayer.”

The Eight Limbs of Yoga — [The Path of Yoga]

1. Yamas – Ethical Discipline [The 5 Moral Restraints]

■Ahimsa [non-violence]
■Satya [truthfulness]
■Asteya [non-stealing]
■Brahmacarya [moderation]
■Aparagraha [non-hoarding]
2.  Niyamas – Self Observation [The 5 Observances]

Sauca [purity] / Santosa [contentment] / Tapas [zeal or austerity] / Svadhyaya [self study] / Isvara-pranidhana [devotion to a higher power]

3. Assana [pose or posture]

4. Pranayama [mindful breathe control]

5. Pratayahara [turning inward sense of withdrawal]

6. Dharana [concentration]

7. Dyana [Meditation] /

8. Samadhi [union of self with the object of meditation. A state of joy and peace]


To engage the postures there are three main Bandhas:

■Mula Bandha – is the root lock. Mula Bandha is the perineum muscle which is located in front of the anus and behind the genitals for men. In females the location is near the top of the cervix. Engaging this bandha helps us to root into the floor and engages the next bandha, Uddiyana.
■Uddiyana  Bandha – means flying upward. It is performed by fully exhaling and drawing the lower belly inward and upward while simultaneously lifting the diaphragm. Rather than sucking the belly in it is a maintained stillness three fingers below our navel. This then engages us to the next bandha, Jalandhara.
■Jalandhara Bandha – is the chin lock. It is not as frequently used. It occurs spontaneously in postures such as shoulder stand. It is used extensively in pranayama. To engage Jalandhara, extend your chin forward and draw it back into the notch which is formed where the two clavicle bones meet.
Bandhas are a series of subtle energies which assist in the pranic flow [prana is life force]. This creates heat by utilizing subtle internal muscular contractions, aided by a type of breathing called ujjayi pranayama. This heat helps to warm the body and make the muscles more malleable.

When all three bandhas are engaged simultaneously it is called Maha Bandha. This means the great lock.

Pilates on Elmwood

About dkpilates

Pilates Instructor, Yoga Instructor, Personnel trainer and Group Fitness Instructor. Don teaches Contemporary and the Authentic forms of Pilates, in the later 90's, Don began his study of Yoga. His study of Yoga includes the Hatha, Iyengar, Bikram, and Astanga disciplines. His other areas of interest in fitness include Martial Arts, Spin, Boot Camp Training, and Weight Training. Don has extensive training and certifications from AFFA, IDEA, MadDog, B-Fit and Polestar. Don Continues his of Pilates education with Michelle Larson in Santa Fe New Mexico. His personal philosophy related to fitness is to aid students in a personalized balance of strength, stamina and flexibility. He is dedicated to design a program specifically for his students independent of the season of their life to create functional movement and help them reach their fitness goals.
This entry was posted in BODY, HEALTH, LIFE, Reduce Muscle Soreness, The Spine, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s